Board of Police Commissioners

Board Members

Commissioner Nathan Garrett, President
Nathan Garrett was appointed by Missouri Governor Eric Greitens and sworn in on July 27, 2017. He is a past recipient of the Department of Justice’s Distinguished Service Award, one of the Department’s most coveted honors. Additionally, he was selected as the 2018 “Lawyer of the Year” for the greater Kansas City area by Best Lawyers in America for the practice area of white-collar criminal defense. Nathan Garrett has repeatedly been honored by Best Lawyers in America, as well as Missouri & Kansas Super LawyersKC Magazine 100 and the Kansas City Business Journal’s “Best of the Bar” in the areas of white-collar criminal defense, commercial litigation and qui tam (False Claims Act) law. He has served as a state trooper, state prosecutor, FBI Special Agent and federal prosecutor. As a federal prosecutor, he served as Chief of the National Security and Terrorism Section in the United States Attorney’s Office for the Western District of Missouri, and as an Assistant United States Attorney for the Northern District of Texas. Nathan Garrett also served as a Special Assistant United States Attorney while serving as a Special Agent for the FBI. Prior to his federal service, he was a Missouri State Trooper and a county prosecutor. Garrett is married with two children.

Commissioner Leland Shurin, Vice-President
Leland Shurin was appointed by Governor Jay Nixon and was sworn in on July 24, 2015. He is the managing partner of Shaffer Lombardo Shurin, a Kansas City-based law firm. He has served as a mediator in hundreds of successful mediations and he has numerous high-profile appointments as a Special Master in both State and Federal courts. He has been selected as an arbitrator in hundreds of arbitrations in the areas of employment, construction and commercial disputes. He has been the lead trial attorney in many lawsuits representing plaintiffs and defendants in state and federal courts of Missouri, Kansas, and other states. Leland Shurin was nominated by President William Clinton to be a Judge of the United States District Court in 1995, but withdrew due to delays in the confirmation process. He is a graduate of the University of Missouri with a B.A. in Economics and received his J.D. from the University of Missouri-Kansas City. He formerly served as the chair of the Missouri Gaming Commission. He collects political campaign pins. He and his wife Jill live in Kansas City and enjoy international travel.

Commissioner Don Wagner,  Treasurer
Governor Greitens appointed Don Wagner as a member of the Board and was sworn in on November 6, 2017. Don Wagner is a private investor and General Partner of Wagner Investments, L.P. He worked for Trico Industries, a New York Stock Exchange company, in various positions from 1970, including President from 1984-1990. He acquired CST Industries from Trico Industries in 1990 and sold the company in 2006. Formerly Chairman of the Board of both the Boys and Girls Club Board of Greater Kansas City and Friends of the Kansas City Zoo. Currently serves as a Board Member for Kansas City Missouri Police Department, the National Association of Basketball Coaches Foundation, Tnemec, Co. Inc., APSCO, Kansas City Zoo Foundation Board, was past President of the River Club, is a Trustee of the University of Missouri at Kansas City, Advisory Board Member-TOP Investments, LLC and Bl2 Capital Partners. Don Wagner is a graduate of the University of Tulsa in 1967 and the Stanford Executive Program in 1989. He lives in Kansas City, Missouri with his wife, Jean. They have three grown children and two grandchildren.

Commissioner Mark Tolbert, Member 
Bishop Mark Tolbert was appointed by Governor Greitens and sworn in on November 8, 2017. Tolbert is president and pastor of Victorious Life Church, previously known as Christ Temple Church. He was previously president of The Coalition of Concerned Clergy, board chairman of Lee A. Tolbert Community Academy, and board member of United Way. Tolbert attended Penn Valley Community College and holds a degree in divinity from Western Baptist Bible College.

Mayor Sylvester “Sly” James, Member
Sylvester “Sly” James was sworn in as Kansas City’s mayor on May 1, 2011. James was honorably discharged from the United States Marine Corps in 1975 and earned his law degree in 1983. He joined Blackwell, Sanders, Matheny, Weary & Lombardi and became the firm’s first African-American partner. He started his own practice, the Sly James Firm, in 2003. He has led or served on the boards of multiple legal organizations as well as the United Way, Committee for County Progress, Partnership for Children, Bishop Hogan High School, Notre Dame de Sion schools, Operation Breakthrough, Genesis School, the Kansas City Land Clearance for Redevelopment Authority, Enhanced Enterprise Zones of Kansas City and the Jackson County Ethics Commission.

Secretary/Attorney David Kenner
The Board of Police Commissioners selected David Kenner as their secretary/attorney in 2010. Kenner is the president of the Levy Craig Law Firm, and a member of its transaction department. He has experience in all aspects of real estate, including acquisitions, sales, leases, exchanges, development and construction, finance and lending, brokerage issues, workouts and foreclosures, and real estate-related litigation. He is a member of the Board of Directors of TriCentury Bank, and the Chair of its Audit Committee. Kenner has been named The Best Lawyers in America in the practice area of Banking and Finance Law for 2013-16, The Best Lawyers in Kansas City from 435 Magazine in 2015, and Kansas City Business Journal’s Best of The Bar from 2006 to 2010, 2012, 2013. He received the 2016 Law Firm Leader award given to chairman, managing partners or other law firm executives who demonstrated extraordinary vision, innovation and leadership during the year from Missouri Lawyers Weekly, and the 2015 Baron of the Boardroom award in recognition of a distinguished career representing corporate/business clients from the Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association.